Middle Grade Cover Reveal!

I’m so excited to share the cover for the very first middle grade novel from Christopher Rowe and yours truly. Behold! Here’s the cover for The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy, out next spring from Greenwillow Books!

supernormal-hc-c

I hope you guys love it as much as we do! The artist is Glenn Thomas and he’s also doing black and white interior art.

Here’s the about the book that’ll be on the back of the ARCs:

Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen magical artifact that could disrupt the balance between the humans and the supernatural. Welcome to life at Hotel Monster! The first book in the hilarious and spooky series that is Hotel Transylvania meets Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library.

Stephen’s dad decided to move them across the country to New York City, where his dad is taking over as head chef in an exclusive hotel. A hotel that has the most elite of clientele: monsters! Surprise! Or as they prefer to be called, supernormals. And an even bigger surprise? Stephen is part supernormal himself. When a magical artifact goes missing and Stephen is framed, he must work with two new friends to navigate this whole new world to clear his name. Consequences can be dire in the world of monsters. Spooky, funny, and full of monstrous hijinks, The Lost Legacy is an inventive and accessible mystery-adventure full of friendship, humor, and a monstrous cast of characters—perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

We’ve had so much fun working with each other and our fabulous editor Martha Mihalick on this book/series and we can’t wait for you guys to step into this world. You can preorder if you like: IndieboundAmazonB&N.

NYCC Schedule!

nycc-logo2Hi there! If you’re interested in what else has been up, you can check out September’s tinyletters: one and two. Or sign up to get them in your inbox at tinyletter.com/gwenda.

In the meantime, will you be at NYCC? ME TOO! Here’s where you can find me:

Friday, 10/7

2:00 PM – 3:00 PM: Panel – BookCon @ NYCC Panel Room – 1st Floor

Expanding Worlds: How Science Fiction and Fantasy Novels Imagine the World–For Better or Worse: From hyper-drive star ships to swords and sorcery to lustful vampires, science fiction and fantasy novels imagine worlds with infinite possibilities. But frequently, these worlds are remarkably similar to our own. Come hear bestselling science-fiction and fantasy authors discuss their imagined worlds and the impact of the collective SFF brain on the “real” world. Authors Rysa Walker (The Delphi Effect, Timebound), Gwenda Bond (Girl In the Shadows), Amy A. Bartol (Kricket series, Secondborn series), J.D. Horn (Witching Savannah series), and Alys Arden (The Casquette Girls) will debate and discuss, led by Senior Editor Jason Kirk of 47North and Skyscape.

3:15 PM – 4:15 PM: Autographing – BookCon @ NYCC Autographing Area – 6th Floor

Books will be for sale from Word, and I’m also happy to sign anything you bring me!

I’ll be around Saturday too, but just swanning around seeing people. Hope to see some of you there!

Salt Lake City ComicCon Schedule!

ClbXTz6VYAAmTIw.jpg-large

 

Hey everyone! Here’s my schedule for next week at SLC ComicCon (come say hi!):

Thursday, September 1, 2016

1:00 pm to 2:00 pm
Writing for Teens :: 255F

4 to 5 p.m.
Signing – Shadow Mountain – Booth 1807

Friday, September 2, 2016

12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Behind the Glasses – Why Superheroes Need Secret Identities :: 150G

6:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Romance in Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Horror :: 251A

Saturday, September 3, 2016

10:00 am to 11:00 am
Teen Author Boot Camp: Girl Power: Writing Strong Female Characters :: 255B

11 a.m. – 12 p.m.
I’m With HER-O — I’m not sure where this will yet, but it’ll be me and Margaret Stohl and Sarah Kuhn and Cecil Castellucci so get there!

12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Signing – Shadow Mountain – Booth 1807

I’ll post here if anything changes, but hope to see some of you there.

p.s. I started a Patreon, which I’ll post more about soon. I’m still figuring out how to make it useful!

Lois Lane: Triple Threat Announced! Whee!

A pause in lo the many travels and deadlines to say that I finally got to share some NEWS. I’m in the middle of deadlines (this, plus our middle grade edits due back on Monday!) so I will just drop it here with a giant thank you to everyone who has bought the Lois books, recommended them to others, checked them out of a library, handsold them, etc. etc. YOU made this book three happen and I’m determined to make it the best one yet.

News! 

Also thanks to our host bookstores and everyone who came out to the Dangerous Ladies Tour and made it such an amazing time! You rock.

A Miscellany of Excitements

Hi! I am in the middle of many projects, but wanted to drop by here to share a few things ICYMI in acronym-fu.

If you’re local, I’ll be at Morris Book Shop at 4 p.m. tomorrow for Girl in the Shadows’ launch. They’ll have copies of my other books, I’m sure, and everything in the store is 20% off! Plus, it’s their 8th anniversary shebang, always a fun time. COME OUT.

Other newsy bits:

We saw Hamilton, which did not disappoint and in fact was mindblowingly amazing, and then I met someone outside who was wearing a Superman ring:

 

And yes, I owe the world a tinyletter! It’s coming this weekend! I promise!

Girl in the Shadows & Girl Over Paris #1 Release Days + Boston & ReaderCon Schedule!

Let fly the Bond-GirlintheShadows-21439-CV-FTpages of magic! Girl in the Shadows (the companion to the little book that could Girl on a Wire) is out today! It’s not overstating to say that dreaming up the Cirque American was a life-changing event, and I hope you enjoy your visits there. You can read these books together or separately.

Early book sales are extremely important to books, so you earn my undying affection when you pick new releases up ASAP. (In this case, it makes the possibility of a Dita book that much more likely!) Plus, you can grab Girl in the Shadows and issue #1 of the comic book standalone story Girl Over Paris in hard copy for less than $15 and in e-book versions for less than $10. Can you beat that? I don’t think you can. Girl in the Shadows is also available in audiobook, if that’s your pleasure.

If your bookstore doesn’t have it in stock, just have them order it for you. I’d consider it an excellent birthday present if you picked it up and, if you feel so inclined and enjoy it, leave a review at Amazon or Goodreads or wherever-you-please.

Buy links for Girl in the Shadows

And for Girl Over Paris:

  • Get it at your local comic shop, or
  • Buy it from Amazon or Comixology (Amazon will ship the print issue to you, if you don’t have a handy LCS)

We are off on my birthday/book release adventures to New York for Hamilton and to see a few friends and meet with our middle grade series editor and then on to Boston for an event there and Readercon!

Here’s my public schedule. Do come out to Porter Square (or Readercon!), if you’re local! And if you need to flag me down to sign something at Readercon, feel free. I’m always findable via the twitter machine, but it’s even easier to find me in person now that I have teal hair. Just look for the teal hair.

And I have but one thing at Readercon on Friday, July 8! But will be around all weekend.

  • 1:00 PM    5    Why Women Become Protagonists . Gwenda Bond, LJ Cohen, Rosemary Kirstein, Hillary Monahan, Navah Wolfe. In a 2015 essay about portrayals of female protagonists in crime fiction, Sara Paretsky writes, “Detectives like V.I. came to life in a time of bravado, when my peers and I… wrote out of a kind of cockiness: we’re doing a job because we want it, we like the work, no one can stop us. Today, the female hero often has been brutally assaulted… or suffered some other form of serious trauma. It’s as if the only acceptable reason for a woman to embrace the investigative life is to recover from damage, or get revenge for it—not because she takes pleasure in the work, and comes to it as a free spirit.” Let’s explore the reasons that female protagonists decide to protag, and discuss the many ways to motivate them other than assault and trauma.

Previews and Things, Oh My!

So, today is the very last day to get the Girl on a Wire ebook for just $1.99. The audio version is also a “Fantastic Find” on sale at Audible through today for just $3.95. (You can also add the audio for $1.99 if you own the Kindle version, so.)

Comic Book Resources did an exclusive preview for Girl Over Paris #1 — go check it out! Here’s a little taste:

BOND-GirlOverParis-01-22592-PREV2-da5f2

And remember, these are the ways to snag issue 1:

GoP_Where_to_Buy

And Girl in the Shadows is out next week! Ack! And I was in the local paper.

If you’re in the Boston area, I’ll be at Porter Square Books with Molly Gloss one week from today on Thursday, July 7, at 7 p.m.

Okay, back to work.

News of the Week

News of the week!

  • Hey, Girl on a Wire is a Book Bub today and on sale for a few more days for just $1.99!


Deal details here.

 

Still running, go enter!

Various Things + Lexington Event This Weekend

Hey-o, I’ll be sending out this week’s tinyletter later today (from my sick bed; drapes hand across brow in put-upon fashion) (no big deal just a poorly-timed virus, yuck), but wanted to drop some quick things here.

I’ll be doing my first Lexington event since Double Down came out at Barnes & Noble in Hamburg this Sunday at 2 p.m. as part of the national B-Fest. Come out and say hi and get books signed! Here’s the details.

You guys already know that Girl on a Wire is on sale ALL MONTH on Kindle for $1.99 (the paperback is also cheap right now at Amazon, btw). Well, if ebooks are your jam, you can also enter a Goodreads giveaway to win one of 100 (!) ebook copies of Girl in the Shadows that’ll be in your hot little Kindle-hands on release day, I do believe. Or you can just preorder it. *bats eyelashes*

Speaking of things that are out next month for which I DO feel ready…the first issue of Girl Over Paris drops the day after Girl in the Shadows comes out. I’ll have a post next week about the various ways to order: in short, ask your local comic shop to order it for you, get it from Amazon (who, yes, will even ship you the print issue), or on Comixology. A collection of all four issues will be out this fall, but you don’t want to wait. Because BEHOLD the majesty of all four covers by the amazingly genius Ming Doyle…

Issue one:

unnamed

 

Issue 2:

GoaW02_cover_RGB

 

Issue three:

GirlOverParis_03_CMYK_RGB

 

And issue four:

Picture (Device Independent Bitmap) 1

 

It’s just been a joy to work with such a great team and our fabulous editor at Jet City on this. I can’t wait for you guys to read it. And that’s it, I think!